## ABOUT SHINAWATRA UNIVERSITY



## **Historical Background**

The idea of establishing a private university to support private sector development in Thailand and the region was initiated in 1996 by Dr. Thaksin Shinawatra and Professor Dr. Purachai Piumsombun. This was followed by the design development of an environmentally friendly campus by Dr. Soontorn Boonyatikarn in 1997. A year later, the innovative plans were presented to Her Royal Highness Princess Mahachakri Sirindhorn, and then to the Ministry of Universities which granted the license for operation towards the end of 1999. The first Shinawatra University Council Meeting was held on May 19<sup>th</sup>, 2000, marking the initial milestone of the long road to becoming an accomplished private university. In September 2002, the first batch of students was admitted, and the venture of creating and nurturing a prospective university had begun.



## **Coat of Arms**

The University's coat of arms represents the sun, which symbolizes the source of knowledge. It radiates an abundance of ingenuity and innovation through research. It contributes to the foundations of learning including ethical, moral, physical, and religious aspects.



## **Key Performance Indicators**

- 100% graduate employment with very high average salaries.
- Top 10% of all higher education institutes accredited by The Office for National Education Standards and Quality Assessment (Public Organization) ONESQA.
- Ranked 2nd by ONESQA among private higher education institutions in Thailand.
- Education Standards of SIU and all its schools in 2006 were unconditionally approved by ONESQA
- Faculty members with leading research performance as assessed by Thailand Research Fund (TRF).
- Over 70% of faculty members with doctoral degrees and 60% hold academic rank position.
- Prestigious TRF Royal Golden Jubilee PhD Scholarships awarded to 20% of faculty members.

- More than 30% of faculty members and 20% of students are International
- More than 50% are graduate students.
- NRCT research grants awarded to faculty members.